Cotabato City was created a Chartered City under Republic Act No. 2364 on June 1959. This was sponsored by the late General Salipada K. Pendatun, and signed by the President Carlos P. Garcia.

The City is bounded on the east by Kabuntalan, North by Sultan Kudarat, South by Dinaig (D.O.S.) and all municipalities of Maguindanao province and on the west of Illana Bay. Due to its strategic location, population has greatly increased as evidence by the influx of children in the public and private schools in the division.

Since then it has undergone immense development under twelve (12) men superintendents and four (4) women superintendents namely: Mayantong Sindao, Iluminado A. Protascio, Diamar P. Kadon, Dulangan M. Abid, Isidro S. Valeroso, Estrella Abid-Babano, Visitacion I. Espinido (OIC), Udtog K. Kawit (OIC), Anastacio L. delos Angeles, Dr. Filomeno F. Sicad, Victoriano D. Fontanilla (OIC), Dr. Ibrahim D. Guiapar, Hadji Abdullah A. Andang (OIC), Dr. Sabandiya Balabagan, Dir. Estrella Abid-Babano, CESO III, Dr. Melinda S. Maruhom ASDS (OIC), and Dr. Concepcion Ferrer-Balawag as the concurrent Schools Divisiongood synthesis essay examples Superintendent.

The Schools Division of Cotabato City is one of the nine divisions of DepEd Region XII. It is now on its 39th year since its separation from the original division of the entire province of Cotabato. Since then, it has undergone immense development under its fifteen superintendents. Presently, it is headed by the Schools Division Superintendent, Concepcion Ferrer-Balawag, Ph.D., CESE. It has eight districts with twenty-eight (28) public elementary schools, fifteen (15) secondary schools, thirty-four (34) private elementary schools which includes eight (8) Private Madaris, and twenty-three (23) private secondary schools.

Anchored on the Department of Education’s vision-mission, this Division “envisions to be an institution of transformation and a model of excellence that produces God-fearing, well-rounded and value-laden citizens through the collaborative efforts of highly competent, motivated responsible and committed educational leaders and stakeholders.”

Our mission is “to provide the best quality technical assistance and capability building to all schools through the delivery of innovative services motivated by highly competent and committed educational leaders in a collaborative partnership between and among the stakeholders.”